TECHlab: DIY [P14]

Initially, I’d headed over to makeprojects.com, and chose to make a light box. Apparently a light box is, or some version of it, is what a photographer would use to… Take a pretty picture? I don’t know. Either way, mine came out terribly. So instead, I decided to try out instructables.com! A much better choice (for me anyway).

Today we’re going to make a credit card iPhone stand! This tutorial is unbelievably easy to follow, and lucky for me, it’s technology-based!

Step one:

Find an old credit card or one of those supermarket discount cards, since like the website says, no one hardly uses those.

Here’s mine:

Image

I chose to use a now-defunct Forever 21 gift card. The thickness is about the same as a typical credit or savings card.

Step two:

Fold the card in half.

Image

Ta-da! Sorry for the cropped image. I haven’t had a manicure in weeks.

Step three:

This is where it gets wild. With a scissor, cut the folded card like you would if you were making a Valentine out of construction paper in second grade. Like so…

TECHlab - Step 3

Bye bye, old card.

Step four:

Hello, iPhone stand!

TECHlab - Step 4

Or in this case, highlighter stand.

TECHlab - Final

How do you think I’m taking these pictures?

http://www.instructables.com/id/Credit-Card-iPhone-Stand-1/

It was definitely not the most difficult thing I’ve ever done, making this iPhone stand, but cutting weird shapes out of credit cards can be dangerous! Overall, this was a fun little DIY experiment… And went much more smoothly than my silly light box.

For the record, it does actually hold my iPhone!

By anabhani

Leave a Reply

